Samatha Meditation (Donation)


This class is taught by:

Paul B.

Paul Baker is a longtime resident of Hyde Park. He has been part of the Chicago community of Samatha practitioners since its beginning in 2003. Paul is certified to teach by the teachers of the UK Samatha Trust, and assists in the organization and teaching of other Samatha practice events throughout the year in Hyde Park
Samatha meditation is a form of breathing-mindfulness meditation drawn from the Thai Theravada Buddhist Monastic tradition. Brought to Britain in the 1960's, the traditional practice was introduced to laypeople through a graduated series of steps. This same practice began to be taught in Chicago in 2003. The simple stages of the graduated course help introduce the beginning meditator to the possibility of deeper and subtler mental cultivation, while the completed course provides the regular practitioner with a flexibility that allows the practice to grow with his or her individual experience. The aim of samatha meditation is to foster the development of calm and clarity. It is appropriate for everyone who breaths, Buddhist and non-Buddhist alike.

Upcoming classes:

  • Sun Nov 19 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Paul B.
  • Sun Nov 26 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Paul B.
  • Sun Dec 03 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Paul B.
  • Sun Dec 10 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Paul B.
  • Sun Dec 17 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Paul B.
  • Sun Dec 24 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Paul B.
  • Sun Dec 31 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Paul B.
  • Sun Jan 07 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Paul B.
  • Sun Jan 14 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Paul B.
  • Sun Jan 21 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Paul B.
  • Sun Jan 28 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Paul B.
  • Sun Feb 04 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Paul B.
  • Sun Feb 11 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Paul B.
  • Sun Feb 18 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Paul B.
  • Sun Feb 25 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Paul B.
  • Sun Mar 04 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Paul B.
  • Sun Mar 11 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Paul B.


stay connected with us:

icon-facebook   icon-wordpress   icon-wordpress   icon-twitter   icon-youtube   icon-yelp