Zumba


This class is taught by:

Amaris G.

Began her dancing career with Sundance Productions where she was trained in African and Caribbean dance techniques. She graduated from Northern Illinois University with a bachelor’s degree in theatre and dance with an emphasis in dance. Zumba incorporates and allows her to show her love for Latin, African and Caribbean culture, music and dance styles and is eager to share and spread this love with her students.

Erika S.

At age 16, Erika was able to participate in her high school's After School dance program, with instructor Marshall Lindsay, and discovered her love of dance!

She decided to take things further by taking classes at that same instructors school of dance and charm, but could not afford tuition. That same instructor allowed her to teach her own original choreography to offset the costs for tuition, and so her love of teaching began! That experience lead Erika to audition and secure a partial scholarship in the "chance to dance" program at Joseph Holmes dance theater in Chicago Illinois.

Erika minored in dance choreography at Western Illinois University while simultaneously performing with the university's Western wranglers dance line and acting as co-choreographer for the Gwendolyn Brooks cultural center dance troupe.

After college Erika taught numerous dance programs with the Chicago Park District and dance/fitness classes for all ages at the Southside YMCA.

Erika is currently a Cardio Strength/Silver Sneakers instructor and enthusiastic sub, at Chaturanga Fitness studio and certified Zin Zumba instructor at Skyy Level Group fitness in Chicago.

Aside from fitness, Erika works as an independent contractor commercial print model, hairstylists, crochet artist and nutrition assistant for her holistic health coach sister, Monika Simmons.

Zumba is a fun and effective cardiovascular workout that combines Latin and international music and dance routines with aerobic and fitness interval training. In a one-hour class you might sample moves from salsa, merengue, cumbia, samba, African dance, and even Bollywood! No dance background is necessary. The whole point is to have fun... and you can't help but smile ear to ear as you burn hundreds of calories. Amazing, right???!!!

In addition to shaking your tush, you will shake up your upper body muscles with Zumba Tone sticks. These weighted "maracas" add a musical AND muscular addition to your Zumba class, and are excellent for toning up your arms!

Upcoming classes:

  • Fri Nov 17 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm with Amaris G.
  • Sat Nov 18 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Amaris G.
  • Mon Nov 20 4:15 pm - 5:15 pm with Amaris G.
  • Wed Nov 22 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Erika S.
  • Fri Nov 24 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm with Amaris G.
  • Sat Nov 25 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Amaris G.
  • Mon Nov 27 4:15 pm - 5:15 pm with Amaris G.
  • Wed Nov 29 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Erika S.
  • Fri Dec 01 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm with Amaris G.
  • Sat Dec 02 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Amaris G.
  • Mon Dec 04 4:15 pm - 5:15 pm with Amaris G.
  • Wed Dec 06 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Erika S.
  • Fri Dec 08 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm with Amaris G.
  • Sat Dec 09 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Amaris G.
  • Mon Dec 11 4:15 pm - 5:15 pm with Amaris G.
  • Wed Dec 13 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Erika S.
  • Fri Dec 15 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm with Amaris G.
  • Sat Dec 16 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Amaris G.
  • Mon Dec 18 4:15 pm - 5:15 pm with Amaris G.
  • Wed Dec 20 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Erika S.


stay connected with us:

icon-facebook   icon-wordpress   icon-wordpress   icon-twitter   icon-youtube   icon-yelp